224 farmers committed suicide in 4 states so far in 2010

Fri, Jul 30 06:52 PM
New Delhi, July 30 (PTI) As many as 224 farmers have committed suicide in four states — Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Punjab — so far this year, Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar informed Parliament today. Of the total number of suicides, the maximum were from Maharashtra (131), followed by Karnataka (81), Andhra Pradesh (7) and Punjab (5), according to data submitted by Pawar to the Rajya Sabha.

The farmer suicides in the four states were mainly due to agrarian reasons, the minister said. As per media reports, eight farmers have reportedly committed suicide in Orissa.

However, the state government has not confirmed if they had taken the extreme step due to agrarian reasons, he added. Pawar said that the government is taking steps to address the farmers” problems.

Among other measures, the government has extended the period of implementation of the non-credit component of the rehabilitation package in four states by two more years — up to September 2010. Also, the government has enhanced the interest subvention for timely repayment of crop loans up to Rs 3 lakh from 1 per cent to 2 per cent for the year 2010-11, he said.